The seventh annual student prize competition
Dec. 24, 2018

The CORS Queueing Special Interest Group (SIG) is pleased to announce the seventh (2018) annual student prize competition, to be awarded at the upcoming CORS Conference in Saskatoon, 2019. The submission deadline for this year’s competition is January 31, 2019. Please send your submission to selection committee chair Dr. Gennady Shaikhet (

Instructions: Students should submit a copy of their paper, plus a letter from their supervisor attesting to their pivotal role and contributions to the results.

Requirements: The competition is for the best student-led paper submitted to a refereed publication, either a journal or the proceedings of a conference. Papers entered in the competition must have already been submitted by December 31, 2018. Papers do not need to be published at the time of submission, however, a letter indicating acceptance or soliciting a revision may be submitted along with the paper, as supplementary evidence of its merit. Papers that have appeared in print prior to 2018 will not be considered. A student may submit only one paper for consideration in any year.

Eligibility: Eligibility is restricted to: (i) full-time students (either at a Canadian institution or a Canadian studying outside of Canada) in good standing who do not yet hold their degree on the application deadline and (ii) students who are not previous recipients of a CORS Queueing SIG student prize.

Application deadline: January 31, 2019.

Judging: Work will be judged by a three-member committee chaired by Dr. Gennady Shaikhet. All applications and questions should be sent to

Israeli-Canadian Workshop on Queues
Dec. 24, 2018

The Israeli-Canadian workshop on queues will take place in the campus of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem on May 22-23, 2019.

CORS Annual 2019
Dec. 24, 2018

Queueing theory and applied probability stream. To propose sessions or submit your works to the conference, please contact cluster co-chairs: Dr. Armann Ingolfsson ( and Dr. Yichuan Ding (

CanQueue 2019
Dec. 24, 2018

We are pleased to announce that CanQueue 2019 will be held in Toronto in August 23-24, 2019, and will be organized by Dr. Yiqiang Zhao. More conference information will be available soon.

CanQueue 2018
Dec. 24, 2018

CanQueue 2018 was held successfully in Edmonton, Alberta, from August 17 to 18, 2018. There were more than twenty-one participants from universities in Canada and USA. A special session was held to honor Dr. Winfried Grassmann for his outstanding contributions in applied probability and numerical computation. Thanks go to conference chair Dr. Armann Ingolfsson and his organizing team.